9 May

Feature Story
By Antonio Simmons

Texas Wesleyan University’s Lady Ram Carneisha Sims is a senior Exercise Science major. Sims is graduating and she is excited about it.
Sims has been at Texas Wesleyan for two years as a transfer student playing basketball.

“Texas Wesleyan has been a tremendous experience,” Sims said.

Sims talks about her most memorable moment here at Wesleyan. That moment was when she broke her ankle in the first round of the playoffs.

Sims felt like she was blessed to be a part of the Texas Wesleyan family when this tragedy struck her life.

“I remember coming back to the school the next couple of days and so many people offering to help me, there was so much love in the air I was unsure on what to do with all it all,” Sims said.

The 2015-year has been a year of many obstacles for Sims, but she says she’s been optimistic and has handled it with positivity.

“2015 is a very big year for me, it is a year I really have to mature and grow because I’m on my own now,” Sims said.

Sims also notices how drastically life has changed from when she was a child.

“I am very pleased with African Americans actually going to college and graduating it shows that my culture are doing something positive and it feels great”, Sims said.

“Looking back and just reminiscing if I could tell my younger self something I would tell myself not rush time enjoy every moment granted, and never say I cannot wait to get older because now I’m about to graduate and life is about to become reality,” Sims said.

Sims plans to attend grad school at Texas Women’s College in Denton, Texas.

Leave a Reply

